Posted by: Melanie Mathos | October 5, 2010

“Whutchewmeanthereaintnomeet” Vegetarian Chili

So, I must admit, I’m not a vegetarian that absolutely loves vegetables. I like them spiced up, in things, dipped in things, covered with cheese, fried, you name it. But, I don’t like when a vegetarian dish becomes a vegetable dish. You with me? Well, chili is just one of those things that you don’t want to recognize any vegetables in other than some beans. But, you don’t want all beans either, because then it’s just, well… beans. So, I set out to find a vegetarian chili recipe that reminded me of the school cafeteria chili that I was such a fan of. (I know, I’m a weirdo that I have fond memories of a cafeteria food.) Well, ladies and gentlemen, I found it.

Source: Inspired by Kesi Perea’s post

Ingredients:

  • 2 Tbl Olive oil
  • 1/2 to 1 Package Morningstar crumbles
  • Can pinto beans
  • Can light kidney beans
  • Can dark kidney beans
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 2 tsp Pepper
  • 2 Tbs Paprika
  • 1 Tbs Red pepper or Cayenne
  • 1 Tbs Chili powder
  • 1 tsp Cumin
  • 2 Cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 White onion
  • 1 Green bepper
  • 1 Large can whole tomatoes
  • Shredded cheddar
  • Sour cream

Method:

  • In large pot over medium heat, add oil, crumbles and beans (reserving liquid)
  • Add salt, pepper, paprika, cayenne, cumin and garlic
  • Brown for 2 minutes (be sure crumbles don’t stick to bottom)
  • Process onion and green pepper in food processor and add to pot
  • Add tomatoes (with liquid) and cut up tomatoes into bite size pieces
  • Add liquid from beans and large can of water (or vegetable broth) and bring to boil
  • Add more spices to taste
  • Simmer 30 minutes
  • Serve with cornbread, shredded cheese and sour cream
Leave a Reply

Categories

