Posted by: Melanie Mathos | September 19, 2010

My Favorite Muffin

So, a bit of trivia time. What is My Favorite Muffin? If you know me really well, you know that it is the place where my career got its start. 🙂 At age 15, I worked at My Favorite Muffin in Flint, Michigan until I realized that I could work at Pacific Sunwear and meet skater dudes. (Enter Gary) There, now you know.

But seriously, this weekend, I did make the best darn muffins you’ll ever taste. Fall is in the air (or at least I wish it was) so I decided to buy a pumpkin spice candle and get my bake on. Check out this recipe for Pumpkin Spice Muffins. Mmmmm… I skipped the cream cheese frosting, but the recipe for that is at source link too.

Source:

The Pioneer Woman *slightly adapted

Ingredients:

  • 1 Cup whole grain flour
  • ½ Cups sugar
  • 2 Tsp baking powder
  • 1-½ Tsp cinnamon
  • ¼ Tsp fresh-grated ginger
  • ½ Tsp nutmeg
  • ½ Tsp salt
  • 4 Tbl cold butter, cut into pieces
  • 1 Cup (heaping) pumpkin puree
  • ½ Cups evaporated milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1-½ Tsp vanilla
  • Topping
  • 2 Tbl sugar
  • 1 Tsp cinnamon
  • ¼ Tsp nutmeg

Method:

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees
  • Grease 12 muffin tins
  • Sift flour, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, and salt into a large bowl
  • Cut in butter with two knives or a pastry blender until it is fully incorporated
  • In a medium bowl, mix together pumpkin, evaporated milk, egg, and vanilla
  • Pour pumpkin mixture into the flour mixture
  • Fold gently until mixture is just combined
  • Pour into a greased muffin pan
  • Sprinkle with remaining cinnamon-sugar-nutmeg mixture
  • Bake for 25 minutes
  • Cool in pan for 15 minutes
Responses

  1. I added chopped pecans to sprinkle on top….yummy;)


Leave a Reply

Categories

