Posted by: Melanie Mathos | October 12, 2009

Babaganoush

Now in my second week of the Ambrose Farm CSA (which I love btw), I’ve gotten yet another eggplant. They are so pretty and have the best color, but the only way I can imagine eating them is deep-fried and smothered in cheese and sauce. In an effort to broaden my eggplant horizons, I used last week’s in a stir fry. When we finished dinner, I noticed that everything left on the plate resembled an eggplant. (Because it was.) So, this week, I thought I would try a Middle Eastern-fav, Babaganoush. My sister has been raving about Ellie Krieger’s recipes, so I thought I would give this one a shot. It’s my new eggplant-obsession! It is so delicious – and super garlicky (which I also love, in case you can’t tell by the size of the tag on the right.)

Source: Ellie Krieger, The Food Network

Ingredients:

  • 1 large eggplant (about 1 pound)
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley, plus more for garnish (I left this out.)
  • 2 tablespoons tahini (the secret ingredient!)
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice

Method:

  • Preheat oven to 450 degrees F.
  • Prick eggplant with a fork and place on a cookie sheet lined with foil.
  • Bake the eggplant until it is soft inside, about 20 minutes.
  • Let the eggplant cool.
  • Cut the eggplant in half lengthwise, drain off the liquid, and scoop the pulp into a food processor.
  • Process the eggplant until smooth and transfer to a medium bowl.
  • On a cutting board, work garlic and 1/4 teaspoon salt together with the flat side of a knife, until it forms a paste.
  • Add the garlic-salt mixture to the eggplant.
  • Stir in the parsley, tahini, and lemon juice.
  • Season with more salt, to taste.
  • Garnish with additional parsley.
Leave a Reply

Categories

